What’s In My Make-up Bag?

     These are my make-up bag staples.

1. Heart-shaped mirror

Since I don’t carry a compact a small mirror is a necessity for touch-ups. My beloved sister’s giffit me concealert, I don’t know where it came from but I lurve it!

2. Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 15 Fair

This concealer is light-weight enough for under-eye coverage without creasing but still provides ample coverage and can be used for spot concealing. I should note that #15 is a shade lighter than myImage skin so it can also be used for highlighting but ample blending is a must.

3. Palladio blotting tissues

I am working my way through a second a pack of these tissues. Since one side of the papers is covered in translucent rice powder and the other side is oil-absorbing they are perfect for setting my concealer or mattifying a sweaty t-zone.

4. Flower Raise Some ‘Brows Defining Brow Pencil in light brown

This is my first trial from Brew Barrymore’s beauty line and I like it well enough. The application isn’t overly smooth but since the point is to mimic natural hair strokes, I can live with it. This kind of pencil is alleged to have a built-in sharpener but all that means is that instead of whittling away shavings with a fixed blade you simply twist the plastic casing to access more product.

flower pencil

 honey balm stain

5. Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains in 001 Honey (above) and 055 Adore (right)adore balm stain

I just love Revlon’s Balm Stains. The gel formula applies creamy unlike actual lip stains that dry out the lips and need a gloss to stay luscious. I own several shades, some of which land in my bag depending on my daily look, but these two are mainstays. Honey is a nudish, pink shade that compliments natural as well as heavy make-ups looks while Adore is a dark red that might be called brick because of its golden undertones.

6. MAC Eye Kohl in Smolder

eye kohl

This lives in my bag for the almost exclusive purpose of touching up my eyeliner or blackening my waterline to add a punch when all I have on is mascara and lipstick. Truth be told, however, I normally reach for my Ivory highlighter to line my lower waterline.

7. Chella Ivory Lace highlighter pencil

chella ivory

This fab little pencil was in my June Ipsy Glam Bag and I am mad about it! I use this little guy under the tail of my brows, to wake-up my eyes with a bit on the waterline and inner corners, and occasionally to highlight my cupid’s bow.

8. Maybelline The Falsies Volume Express Waterproof Mascara in Brownish Blackmascara

I do not love waterproof mascara but I really dislike mascara fall-out underneath my eyes when I’m sweating up a storm at work. So I turn to this. I enjoy the volume my lashes achieve with this mascara and the formula really builds for a nice impact. On the regular, stark black is too harsh for my light skin tone but dark brown is not as severe.

9. Stainless steel pointed-tip tweezers

I don’t know what brand these tweezers are but it is always good to keep a pair handy for those annoying hairs that spring up, and they are always super long once you notice them. Also I think the best place to tackle my eyebrows is in the car. All of that natural light during the day creates the optimum environment for tweezing.

tweezer

Occasionally other items make the cut for my on-the-go cosmetic needs but these are almost always in my purse. This collection can be used to create an emergency, full make-up look or as a refresher when my busy work day starts taking it out on my face.

What are your must haves? Comment below and let me know!

About mariannemarch

Marianne is a writer, editor, econ-freak, and makeup junkie. She can be spotted roaming around Atlanta, usually drinking coffee and scribbling in her notebook.

Posted on July 29, 2013, in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Where do you get your rice paper blotters and about how much are they?

  2. Alison Hortenstine

    I hear that an Ivory pencil has to ability to make my eyes look bigger!! NEED.. but of course I can not find one that is worthy and in my price range help!!

    • Rimmel makes a nude scandaleyes pencil that has the same affect as ivory on the inner rim. They never have it at Wal-Mart but I’ve def seen it at my target. Or you could try Wet-and-wild at a drug store but they always seem to be sold out of their nude pencils when I look.

  3. I’ve heard great things about the Maybelline Fit Me concealer! I just need to buy it already!

    • Alison Hortenstine

      I personally do not like it. I feel like it doesnt smooth out my skin as good as others but you might just have to play with it

  4. Have you tried Hydraluron? I think it needs to be in everyone’s makeup bag. It honestly gives your skin such a beautiful glow that you’ll stop wearing foundation. Maybe you could do a post about products you have recently bought and whether you like them or not.

  1. Pingback: No Regrets: Products I Would Repurchase | Marianne's Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

