Rad or Rude: June Favorites and the Products that Missed the Mark

   June was a very busy month for me, filled with travel, parties, and way too much money spent. Now it’s July which means that even though summer has just begun, it will be over far too quickly.

THE RAD

1 Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

2265607

After reading a rave review I picked this sucker up at Kohls for $5.99. What a delight this little sponge is. I may never buy a Beauty Blender sponge again! Similar to that one, the RT sponge has a pointed tip, to target blemishes, with rounded sides. Unlike the Beauty Blender, this sponge has an angled flat top instead of a rounded bottom. I like to use the flat plane to blend my concealer all the way up to my lower eyelids.

2. Samsung Galaxy S5

Samsung-Galaxy-S5-White

Yay for my new phone! I was more than ready to trade up from my S3 and thanks to the great customer service I received at my local Verizon Wireless store I was able to upgrade almost a year early. I love my phone, it’s got some great new features and a bad-ass camera. Also I got a sparkly phone case (below) to house it and the LG Bluetooth headset which is pretty freaking cool, and a must have for people who do a lot of driving (especially helpful to me on my roadtrip to D.C.)

casemate s5lg hbs 750

3. Lana Del Rey Ultraviolence

UltraviolenceLDR

I couldn’t wait to pick up copy of Lana Del Rey’s newest album Ultraviolence, which dropped just two weeks ago. The title track Ultraviolence has quickly become my favorite. So far, I am really enjoying the new album; I knew I would since I love her music.

4. RelaxshacksDOTcom

As per usual, I virtually live on YouTube. I came across Derek “Deek” Diedricksen’s channel a few weeks ago while searching for minimalist housing videos. I quickly subscribed after watching a few video tours of tiny homes in various parts of the country. I really love to watch house tours and, as I’ve discussed in previous blog posts, minimalism so this channel just feeds my fascination with both

5. EnKoreMakeup

In addition to binge watching tiny house videos, I have been brushing up on some unique tricks and basic makeup application tips on this YouTube Channel. Even though makeup artist Koren hasn’t posted a new vid in a year, there is a wealth of information available in his old videos and I just love the way he says “sooo”.

6. Bigelow Red Raspberry Herbal Tea

LOW-00037-2

When the weather gets boiling hot, there is nothing better than a cold glass of iced tea. Raspberry is one of my favorite flavors and I can’t get enough of this kind. I add a little sweetener, pour over ice, and enjoy!

7. Proactiv Toner

proactiv toner

All-but-forgotten in a bathroom drawer, live about a half dozen unopened Proactive toner bottles that I never seemed to get to when I was a pimply teenager. Mid-month when I had a few visiting (unwelcome) face demons I tackled them head-on. Meaning, I did what I always do except that between cleansing and moisturizing, I used a cotton swab to apply toner to my problem areas.

8. Benefit Watt’s Up Highlighter

watts up highlight

I swear, I get the very slightest hint of a tan and in my head I am transformed into some kind a of bronzed beach goddess. Stop laughing! I’m tan!

Yeah…. No.

I may not be tan but I can fake it to some degree with bronzer which I have been applying liberally to my cheekbones and temples. A soft highlight is a must have to offset my “tan”. All month I have been reaching for my Benefit Watt’s Up highlight sample. I really appreciate the stick formula which makes it easy to pinpoint exactly where I want to apply. The pigmentation is a smooth shimmery champagne that blends easily with the pat of my ring finger. I like to wear it under my brow bone, on the top of my cheekbones and to highlight my cupid’s bow

THE RUDE

1. OPI Polka.com

polka

This nail polish has disappointed me over and over again. You know that old adage, “fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me”? Well that saying is bullcrap because I accept none of the blame for this failure of a nail polish.

Truth time: I bought this polish in March. Of last year. I thought that I returned it! But I discovered that I had not. I remembered that I was initially disappointed in the application (instead of looking how it does in the bottle, the glitter applies sparsely and looks more like a glittery top coat) but, ever the optimist, I decided to give it another go. Even though I was using a dapping motion to try to build up the glitter and even though I applied FOUR freaking coats, the glitter still wasn’t opaque and it was coming off in whole sheets.

    Luckily, I still have the receipt and even though I am waaaay past the 60 day return window, I will still get store credit. Back to Ulta you go!

2. Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Renewal Beach Spray

healthy-sexy-hair

I really tried to make this work. I used it on damp hair hair, dry hair, already wavy hair. I sprayed it on over and over again to no avail. The makers claim that spraying this on your hair will create a conditioned, beachy texture. Lies, all lies! It doesn’t work. Period.

3. Eylure Naturals 020

eyelure

These are not a rude as the other two items listed above but they do not have enough pizazz to satisfy me. If I go through the trouble of gluing a furry little creature to my eyeball then I want them to pack a punch or at least brush against the lenses of my shades. I’m sure that somebody with naturally sparse eyelashes would like these for a subtle boost but I can get the same effect with an extra coat of mascara and well curled lashes. Their most redeeming quality is their light weight feel.


 Not that you asked but…

  • As I write, I’m sitting around watching Sex and the City and wearing a face mask #singlegirllife
  • I’m starving but if I eat now I won’t be hungry when I go to trivia tonight
  • Friday I actually paid for a manicure and yesterday it started chipping 😦

Thanks for reading!

If you enjoyed this post, comment below and let me know!

Or hit the like button or share with your friends 🙂

About mariannemarch

Marianne is a writer, editor, econ-freak, and makeup junkie. She can be spotted roaming around Atlanta, usually drinking coffee and scribbling in her notebook.

Posted on July 1, 2014, in Beauty and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’ve also been loving raspberry this passed month! Yaay for the new phone, I hope to make the same upgrade soon

    • Girl, I love this phone! I thought I was going to have to wait until next May but the Verizon rep who I talked to found a promotion where I could break my contract, sign a new 2 year contract with a $200 credit towards the 2 year price. So all I had to pay was an activation fee!

  2. lookbeyondbeauty

    Very cool post! 🙂
    I would love it if you would check out my blog & follow if you like it 🙂 http://lookbeyondbeauty.wordpress.com

  3. I have tried the Healthy Sexy Hair multiple times myself and have found nothing but disappointment after. I thought that maybe I wasn’t using it right, but now I know it’s not just me!

Leave a Reply

